The Architecture Vision

This part of the TOGAF standard describes the initial phase of an architecture development cycle. It includes information about defining the scope of the architecture development initiative. Here, we identify the stakeholders and the goals. We create an Architecture Vision. This vision is approved and signed off. Based on this, we proceed with the further architecture development phases

Phase A is about project establishment and initiates an iteration of the architecture development cycle, setting the scope, constraints, and expectations for the iteration. It is required in order to validate the business context and to create the approved Statement of Architecture Work.

Note that the Preliminary phase creates a "Request for Architecture Work", whereas the Phase A creates a "Statement of Architecture Work". In Preliminary phase, we identify the scope of the enterprise impacted by the architecture. Here, we identify the scope of the architecture itself.


The objective of the Phase A is to develop a high-level aspirational vision. Here, we create a vision of the capabilities and business value - that should be delivered as a result of the proposed Enterprise Architecture. Based on this, we generate an approved Statement of Architecture Work. This defines a program of works to develop and deploy the architecture outlined in the Architecture Vision.


The way to go with this phase is to follow these steps. Contrary to the Preliminary Phase, These steps are focused on the particular iteration of the ADM rather than the entire enterprise project.

  • Establish the architecture project
  • Identify stakeholders, concerns, and business requirements
  • Confirm and elaborate business goals, business drivers, and constraints
  • Evaluate capabilities
  • Assess readiness for business transformation
  • Define scope
  • Confirm and elaborate Architecture Principles, including business principles
  • Develop Architecture Vision
  • Define the Target Architecture value propositions and KPIs
  • Identify the business transformation risks and mitigation activities
  • Develop Statement of Architecture Work; secure approval


The Architecture Vision Phase can follow directly after the Preliminary Phase, or after a complete iteration on entire circle. Thus, the inputs to this phase come from the outputs of the preliminary phase or those of the previous ADM cycle, or the enterprise requirements.

  • Request for Architecture Work (Preliminary Phase)
  • Business principles, business goals, and business drivers (Preliminary Phase)
  • Organization Model for Enterprise Architecture. (Preliminary Phase)
  • Tailored Architecture Framework, including tailored architecture method, architecture content, Architecture Principles, configured and deployed tools. (Preliminary Phase)
  • Populated Architecture Repository; that is, existing architecture documentation - framework description, architecture descriptions, existing baseline descriptions, etc. (Previous Iteration)


Based on the inputs, the Phase A generates an architecture vision for that ADM cycle. This includes:

  • Approved Statement of Architecture Work
  • Refined statements of business principles, business goals, and business drivers
  • Architecture Principles. Note that the architecture principle was also an input to the Phase A. That was a generic set of principles to be followed. This is specific to the ADM iteration.
  • Capability assessment
  • Tailored Architecture Framework
  • An Architecture Vision, including refined key high-level stakeholder requirements
  • Communications Plan
  • Additional content populating the Architecture Repository

Along with these, the Phase A also generates the basic template drafts for the eight architecture definition documents to be produced in the following phases:

  • Baseline & Target Business Architecture
  • Baseline & Target Application Architecture
  • Baseline & Target Data Architecture
  • Baseline & Target Technology Architecture

With the vision laid out, we are now ready to go ahead and populate each of these eight architecture documents.